Conference Chair

Chris Hoag, BSc(Hon), MD, FRCSC

Active Staff, Lions Gate Hospital
BSc(Hon), Biomedical Sciences, University of Guelph
Medical Doctorate, University of Ottawa
Urology Residency, University of British Columbia
Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons of Canada|
Fellowship in Advanced Minimally Invasive Urologic Surgery, Melbourne, Australia

Dr. Hoag’s medical degree was obtained from the University of Ottawa in 2003. During medical school, he did an optional ‘Enrichment Year’ where he studied medicine in New Zealand, South Africa, and Nepal. He graduated from the Urology program at UBC, obtaining his fellowship (FRCSC) in 2008. Further sub-specialty training in Advanced Minimally Invasive Urologic Surgery was completed in Melbourne, Australia in 2009 at Monash Medical Centre & the Royal Melbourne Hospital under Dr. Daniel Moon. Dr. Hoag joined the urology group in North Vancouver at Lions Gate Hospital in 2010. He also provides urologic services to Sechelt Hospital on the Sunshine Coast. Dr. Hoag’s practice has an emphasis in urologic oncology, including laparoscopic surgery for prostate cancer, kidney cancer, adrenal cancer, urothelial cancer and obstructive uropathy.

Dr. Hoag was elected as President of the BC Urological Society in September 2018.  He is a Clinical Instructor in the UBC Department of Urologic Sciences.  He teaches medical students, family practice residents, and urology residents.  He has been repeatedly recognized by his patients through multiple generous donations to the Lions Gate Hospital Foundation and in 2017 was the recipient of the Lions Gate Hospital Health Care Hero award.


Dr. Carol-anne Moulton

Associate Professor
Department of Surgery, University of Toronto

Dr. Carol-anne Moulton is an Associate Professor in the Department of Surgery, University of Toronto and Staff Surgeon with the Division of General Surgery, University Health Network. She is currently the Medical Director of the Operating Room at Toronto General Hospital and Princess Margaret Hospital, and a Scientist in the Wilson Centre. Dr. Moulton’s research program focuses on understanding the complexity of surgical judgment, the development of surgical expertise, and underlying causes of surgeon error.

Dr. Himat Vaghadia

Clinical Professor in Anesthesiology (UBC) Active Staff (VGH) since 1989 Member of VPSA Community Building & Wellness Committee